Kyogle Council

Kyogle Council logo


Kyogle Council comprises a large and diverse region with spectacular natural and cultural attractions. The local government area spreads across 3589 square kilometres and has a populartion of almost 9,900.

Kyogle is the administration centre of the local government area which also features a host of smaller villages including Cawongla, Wiangaree, Grevillia, Woodenbong, Bonalbo, Old Bonalb, Tabulam, Mallanganee and Mummulgm. These villages are, in turn,  surrounded by various rural localities.

Kyogle Council is known as the Gateway to the Rainforest and is home to the renowned Border Ranges National Park and other world heritage listed areas. It adjoins the Scenic Rim Regional Council in Queensland and the local government areas of Tweed, Lismore City, Richmond Valley, Clarence Valley and Tenterfield in NSW.

Nine Councillors represent three wards of the local goverrnment area and are responsible for the direction and control of Council’s affairs.

Council’s organisational structure is headed by by the General Manager who oversees a four-department structure. The four departments are: Administration and Community Services; Planning and Environmental Services; Urban and Assets; and Infrastructure Works.

Comments are closed